freezing bananas

Y’all know about this, right?

“This” being putting whole bananas in the freezer?

Sometimes the Damsel is enticed by banana displays at the grocery store. They look so perfectly perfect, and the Damsel buys them for her sprog.

Who sometimes eat them. And sometimes the bananas get looking, well, less pristine. And no matter how much better a very ripe banana might taste, her sprog aren’t likely to eat one that looks a little freckled.

Ever hopeful, the Damsel tells herself she’ll make banana bread. Her purchase is not a waste. But the day gets busy, and then another, and the bananas get blacker. The Damsel will console herself by recalling someone said bananas can never be too ripe for banana bread: the riper the better.

The Damsel is here to sadly inform you that there is indeed a point where bananas are too ripe. When they are liquidy and the buzzards fruit flies are circling, you’ll know that time has come.

Once upon a time, the Damsel thought she’d rescue some bananas about to go around the corner by peeling them and putting them in freezer bags. These could then be used for smoothies…or yes, thawed for the banana bread that never seems to happen.

But it doesn’t have to be even that hard. You can just Put Them In The Freezer. In their skins, as is. The skins may darken or even turn totally black, but the flesh inside is fine.

The best part about this is the guilt that is taken away.

20 thoughts on “freezing bananas

  1. I never did that before…what if we peel them and dip them in chocolate then freeze them…it would have to be dark chocolate right?

  2. I don’t like ripe bananas and prefer them as green as possible. They’re just to sweet for me, except when I fry them. They’re very yummy then.

  3. If I may be so bold to reqest a post… Do a banana bread post! I have made it a few times, and it always turns out way dry. Make your banana bread happen!

  4. I did not know that you could freeze bananas! I always that they would turn black. See? You CAN teach an old dog new tricks! Thanks for the heads up.

  5. I did not know that you could freeze bananas! I always thought* that they would turn black. See? You CAN teach an old dog new tricks! Thanks for the heads up.

    *this is an edit…see if it works

  6. Pingback: banana bread–are you nuts? « Old School

  7. Who knew?? Thanks for the tip! I have the same issue all the time where I tell myself I will make banana bread but next thing I know…my bananas are mush and the flies are swarming.

  8. I was surprised I put bananas in the freezer and when I was ready to bake banana bread weeks later they looked beautiful when I peeled them now I do this all of the time and never feel guilty when we dont eat all of the bananas.

    • Yes, your comment is up now. This is how moderation works: Once you’ve posted one time, and I’ve approved it, from then on your posts will immediately go through. It holds the very first post until I approve it to make sure you are a “real person” instead of a spambot.

  9. We got one pear it has been sitting on the counter and still is hard as a rock. How long does it take for a pear to ripen on the counter.

    • It could take a while, especially if it is all alone. If it is with other ripe fruit it will happen faster. It could take a week. Keep checking the “shoulders”.

Leave a Reply

